Skip to content

Queue-Tea

July 12, 2013

Customer service at the retail level is a rarity in these parts. The retail experience as a whole is a trying ordeal in these parts. Especially at Vaughan Mills, the nearby outlet mall. It’s not that I have high expectations. I don’t. Vaughan Mills is a pit.
Although it’s a pit, Vaughan Mills has one redeeming quality. Vaughan Mills has a very good Tommy Hilfiger store. The store is big, well maintained and carries a good selection of clothes for the portly gentleman. And being an outlet, everything is always on sale.
On top of all of those factors that contribute to my shopping at Tommy, the customer service there is good. The associates there are friendly and helpful.
I just left the store. I bought a couple pairs of shorts.
As I perused the selection, a young man approached me. “Do you need help finding your size?”
“No thanks. I’m good.”
I found what I was looking for and started making my way towards the cash registers.
“Do you need any help there, cutie?”
Who said that? It was like it was right in my ear?
I turned around and saw a woman standing there. “Are you talking to me?”
“Yes I am. Why wouldn’t I talk to you?”
Okay. Why is this woman calling me cutie? She’s not my aunt. Only an aunt would call me cutie and only when I was young and cute. To be honest, I was a cute boy once. But now I’m a fat, ugly man. The flirtatious sales woman is expectated at a high end car dealership or jewelry store or a high end menswear store; not at a Tommy outlet.
“You startled me. That’s all. Kind of came up from behind on me. I’m good right now. I’m just going to pay for these and be on my way.”
I’m not used to having strange women call me cutie. It feels weird. I don’t like it.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 14, 2013 12:53 am

    I saw the pictures from your brother’s wedding. You’re a cutie. Don’t think I’d call anyone that if I was on the sales floor though, that can be very off-putting to a customer.

  2. July 14, 2013 2:09 pm

    Ha! Welcome to how it feels to be female (switch the “strange women” out for “strange men.”

Leave a Reply

