Skip to content

On the line with online

January 8, 2016

On November 23rd I made some purchases from online retailers. I tried to get a jump on my Christmas shopping. I figured one month would be a proper lead time for shipping to my isolated little burg. (I live on the outskirts of the continents fourth or fifth largest metropolis. Something like that.)

The first purchase was from a company based in Georgia (the American state, not the Armenian neighbour). In under two weeks, the products arrived at my front door. I wasn’t there. So I picked up the products from the big mamma-jamma UPS distribution centre in my city.

The second purchase was from a company claiming to be from Oregon. The retailer gave me a tracking number to follow my purchase.

The product was shipping from near Los Angeles, California by Asendia. Seems odd to me that an Oregon based retailer would ship from LA. Also seems odd to me that an internet retailer would use Asendia. I’ve never heard of this shipping company. Is Asendia a real company? Anybody ever used this company? Anybody ever heard of them?

I’ve been tracking this product since I ordered it. On December 10th, the product arrived in Canada with expected delivery on December 15th. (I’m writing this in January.)

I didn’t sit on this and stew. I took action. On the 21st of December, I made a demand on the retailer. “This is a Christmas gift. By the 23rd, I want my product or my money back.”

I received some apologetic emails and eventually a refund. It took a week or so for the refund to be processed because the retailers were busy because of the holidays. Or so they claimed every time I sent another email expressing my extreme displeasure.

This morning, I checked the status of the tracking number. There has been no change. I don’t know if that means the product is still in limbo somewhere in the great white north where Asendia has no ability to move air let alone three pairs of socks. (Yeah, that’s right. Shipping socks is apparently the world’s most difficult task. The product I purchased was socks.) Or, does it mean the product was never shipped at all, the tracking is all a rouse and I was lucky that I got the refund at all.

Did you know I’ve purchased socks online from American retailers before? I purchased socks from joyofsocks.com. They shipped using the United States Postal Service. I received those socks in an appropriate amount of time. Two weeks or so.

Live and learn, I guess.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 8, 2016 9:06 am

    Yep, I had a similar experience ordering a monthly calendar from an online retailer. Fortunately, I let Amazon know of my displeasure and they issued an immediate credit for the full amount, including tax, of my purchase. The tracking number on that package shows “In Transit” to this day.

    If you order socks online, definitely use joyofsocks.com. Otherwise, consider Amazon. Their customer service is second to none, IMO.

  2. January 8, 2016 5:48 pm

    I’ve never heard of Asendia. I get pretty much everything online (even got my husband there, lol) since I don’t have a car anymore and that’s a new one to me.

    If you do a fair amount of online ordering, I’d recommending investing in Amazon Prime. It seems like a steep price at first, but when you figure that’s free 2-day shipping on everything you order, just using it once a month pays for itself. And they’re pretty good about deliveries. So much so that they started their own delivery service when the other ones started slacking.

    Also, all the major shipping companies have Android apps, (probably iOS too but I can’t swear to that) so you can follow the tracking from your phone and get alerts every time your package moves.

    My guess, if your shipping was from L.A. it was probably a port-of-call for a Chinese distributor and that’s why it took so long. They’ll list where they’re going before they actually get there, because the item is actually on a ship. Those take a loooooong time, but the company should have told you that if that was truly the case.

  3. Christielli permalink
    January 9, 2016 12:31 am

    I bought my dad a Christmas present from the U.S. too and it still hasn’t arrived. So disappointing! I feel your pain.

  4. January 10, 2016 3:44 pm

    Hello good sir! Long time no read. I have never heard of Asendia. The last time I ordered socks online was from Old Navy and the shipping was pretty smooth.

Leave a Reply

