Skip to content

Toronto’s Hug Me Tree

January 14, 2016

I used to be with it, but then they changed what *it* was. Now what I’m with isn’t *it*, and what’s *it* seems weird and scary to me. It’ll happen to you…

Those places I used to hang out around in my youthful years are now weird to me.

Today, I learned about this thing called the Hug Me Tree. Who knows how many times I’ve walked by this thing. I never realized it was a thing. Looking at photos of it right now, I know I’ve seen it but never really noticed it before.

Maybe next time I’m in that part of town, I’ll notice it. Doubt I’ll hug though. It’s a tree stump. Probably been pissed on by thousands of dogs. Probably been hugged by tons of smelly hippies too.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 14, 2016 3:57 pm

    A tree you literally hug. Now I’ve seen or heard of almost everything. And don’t forget Rule 34. Don’t touch that thing.

  2. January 15, 2016 12:21 pm

    Yeah, probably not a good idea to go around hugging random trees. You don’t know where it’s been. Besides, has anyone ever asked the tree if it wanted to be hugged? Maybe it has personal space issues and doesn’t like being touched. You never know. It might be a more introverted kind of tree.

  3. Christielli permalink
    January 15, 2016 8:24 pm

    Yup, I’ve seen that tree too and never really noticed it.

  4. January 17, 2016 5:51 pm

    I have hugged trees, but only live ones. It’s a bit necrophilic to go hugging dead stumps.

Leave a Reply

