Skip to content

Roadkill

January 28, 2016

An animal ran in front of my car last night as I drove home. I’m not sure what species of animal it was. I am sure it got underneath both the front and rear left tires of my car.

How am I supposed to get a good night’s sleep when thirty minutes prior to bedtime, I become an unwilling accomplice to suicide?

I feel bad for the little thing. I didn’t get a good look at it. I just saw a grey blur with a tail run in front of my car from the cemetery. Then my car bumped and bumped again. The first bump bigger than the last.

That road is a pretty regular drive for me. Last night was not the first time something ran across the street from the cemetery in front of my car. First time for me that the something picked a really bad time to make the crossing. I know I’ve seen cats make that crossing. Once I saw a guy make the crossing. Barely saw the guy. He was wearing all black at the time. This is just one of those spots. Old trees obscure road lamps making the stretch a bit darker. In that situation, why cross there? Fifty feet in either direction finds a crosswalk. Okay, an animal might not use the crosswalk. However, I did once see a cockroach near Times Square wait for the light to change before crossing Broadway. I swear to God that happened. I have a witness. An NYC cockroach is a more careful pedestrian than an NYC human.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 28, 2016 3:13 pm

    Well, a NYC cockroach has more family to provide for, so that’s probably why they’re more careful crossing the street.

    Seriously, I’m sorry that happened. That had to be pretty unnerving and horrible. I probably would have had nightmares all night had it happened to me.

  2. January 31, 2016 5:31 pm

    RIP critter.

Leave a Reply

