Skip to content

Garlic Doughnuts

February 4, 2016

272821My mind almost exploded when I saw the words “garlic doughnuts” on a menu. Those are like the two greatest words ever and they’re together, like they’re one thing. My tiny brain couldn’t fathom what it was seeing.

I was at this bar in downtown TO over the weekend. A bar called Bar Hop. This place specializes in beer, but not like every other bar in the world. This place puts beer on the menu likes it some over-rated wine. Whatever floats yer boat, right?

The waiter is taking orders at the table and each person chose some beer, I guess. Then came my turn.

“Garlic doughnuts!”

“A beer sir?”

“Beer, uh… nah… I’ll just have a ginger-ale, I guess.”

“Okay, the doughnuts and a ginger-ale. Coming right up.”

Everybody at the table looked at me like I was weird or something. No. The only thing weird is that I have to go all the way downtown and hit up some beer joint for a garlic doughnut.

They turned out to be doughnut holes, which is fine with me, that taste like fried balls of garlicy awesomeness.

Finding a good doughnut has become a chore but a garlic doughnut. That’s the kind of thing you write home to mama about.

“Hey WIGSF, how was your weekend?”

“Garlic doughnuts.”

“That’s all you have to say? Garlic doughnuts?”

“What else is there to say? Garlic doughnuts.”

One day there will be religion to the garlic doughnut. Nothing against Allah or Jesus or Buddha or whatever, but garlic doughnuts tops ’em all.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 4, 2016 1:25 pm

    Wow. I’d have thought that’d be disgusting. Is the dough sweet, like a regular doughnut, or is there less sugar and more savory flavors? Interesting.

  2. February 4, 2016 4:27 pm

    Those sound amazingly … heavenly.

    Not as good as Jesus, but still, pretty doggone good. :)

  3. February 6, 2016 3:17 pm

    Sounds delicious! As long as they don’t try to fill them with raspberry jelly, I’m in.

Leave a Reply

