Skip to content

Where do these people come from?

February 16, 2016

This new Denny’s in Vaughan has me perplexed. Although I love it. LOVE Denny’s. I get the feeling that the public opinion of Denny’s is pretty low. I tell people that I ate at Denny’s and they look at me like I’ve mispronounced the name of some fine dining establishment, or like I’m weird.

Good food, reasonable prices, serves pancakes 24 hours a day. What’s not to like?

That public opinion of Denny’s had me questioning the viability of there being a Denny’s in Vaughan.

It’s been open for maybe ten days. Every time I’m there, it’s rammed. It’s slammed. It’s busy.

I don’t think it’s getting a lot of locals though. You know, other than me.

I’ve been listening (eaves-dropping) to conversations from the other patrons. I think there are a lot of out-of-towners at this Denny’s. Down the street from Denny’s is Vaughan Mills.

Vaughan Mills is the newish mall built in my town. It was hyped as the biggest mall in Canada during it’s planning and early construction days. What actually got built was a dank, dark, uninspiring-to-shopping outlet mall. Other than the Tommy Hilfiger carrying a good selection for the portly gentlemen, I go there pretty much just to walk around in a big circle indoors if the weather is unkind outdoors. But the mall is always busy. And I always wonder “Who the hell is shopping here?”

I’ve done some snooping in the parking lot. Mostly Ontario plates, very few Americans, very few from other provinces. I bet it’s mostly people from small town Ontario coming here to shop and hopefully find a deal. (Sorry, no deals to be found.) And also a lot of recent immigrants from the Middle East and the Indian subcontinent. That must be who’s shopping at Vaughan Mills.  I know the locals do not.

So now, after shopping (or leaving bagless ’cause that happens a lot) at Vaughan Mills, they go to Denny’s to eat. Not the restaurants in the mall, or around the mall. They drive away from the freeway and go to Denny’s. Which is good. Denny’s will be profitable and always be there for me when I need it.

But dammit, a 45 minute wait for a table. That’s too long. I need my pancakes now.

And for the record, been open ten days or so. Only been there five times. Only had pancakes once, and that was Pancake Tuesday. I’ve been trying other things on the menu.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 16, 2016 10:09 am

    Denny’s is supposed to be a “diner,” not an actual restaurant. I think they’ve tried to revamp their image a few times. Back when I turned 21 in the 80s, they actually had a bar in all Denny’s.

    But I’ve never gone to a Denny’s where I didn’t have to wait for a table. It’s a lot like people making fun of McDonald’s food. Say what you want, but I’ve never been to a McDonald’s where the workers were standing around waiting for someone to come in and order.

    Good food? I don’t know. I think it’s a novelty. It’s only been 10 days; it will likely wear off. But it will ALWAYS be jammed on weekends, I guarantee.

  2. February 16, 2016 4:05 pm

    Of course it’s crammed. It’s new, and people really like Denny’s, even when they try to act like they don’t. It’s decent food at decent prices, what’s not to like?

    That long wait time should wear off pretty soon, I would imagine. Or, perhaps you’re coincidentally hitting hit at a time when the mall movie theater lets out?

    Your “Mills” mall set-up sounds similar to ours, too. We have a Mills near us, but we haven’t been there in a while. It’s also an outlet mall, but it’s about 25ish or so.

  3. February 19, 2016 1:37 pm

    People aren’t eating in the Vaughan Mills food court because it’s even more crowded than the Denny’s. My husband likes to go for lunch there, as part of a mall walk, and the competition for seats is fierce. Also, it’s unbelievably noisy. On the plus side, there’s usually a stroller parked somewhere within visual range, so I can amuse myself by playing peek-a-boo with cute babies.

Leave a Reply

