Skip to content

Internet? Internot!

March 21, 2016

I heard about this story on the radio then I followed it up reading a March 20th, 2016 Calgary Sun article by Michael Platt. Here’s my paraphrasing of the story.

Some middle-aged guy went to a fast food place and checked his smartphone. Two 12 year old girls thought the guy was checking them out and using his smartphone to photograph or video record them. They took a photo of the guy, posted it to Facebook with a warning that a pedophile was on the loose and they called the police.

The man was reading an email or text message without his glasses so his phone was outstretched from his face.

The police cleared the man of any wrong-doing as there wasn’t any wrong-doing. However the Facebook posting spread quickly around town before Facebook got wind of what was happening and removed the post.

I followed up my reading of this story by checking out another article on the same subject. This time on the CBC website. The site allowed comments. First comment made reference to Stalin. I’m sure I’m no better, but can we not strive to have some sort of public decorum online? I want to be better than that.

Living in this world scares me a bit. I’ve got a smartphone and a habit of reading emails and internet stuff while I dine alone at diners and such. I dine alone because I’m having lunch or whatever on the road while I work. Guy’s gotta eat. I check my phone because I’m getting work emails and stuff and I read stuff on the Internet because I’m alone. This situation could happen to me. Other than age and marital status, how am I different from this unnamed man in Trail BC? He went to a fast food restaurant for a cup of coffee and he held out his phone because his eye-sight ain’t so good. That could easily be me one day. That could have been me this past Friday. I stopped at a burger place for lunch in between work appointments. I read some news articles on my phone in between bites of my french fries. I sat facing out the restaurant window but that’s because that seat was available and it was a bit sunny. It was a nice place to sit. I don’t want to get a knock on my door from the police questioning me about my sexual habits.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 21, 2016 9:07 am

    Things like this are out of hand. I understand we need to be safe, and secure, and blah blah blah, but c’mon. This just shows how far things have gone.

    I guess the guy could have enlarged the print on his screen. Most cell phones have that functionality. I’ll bet he does that next time so he doesn’t have to extend his arm to read the text. And how full of themselves are those girls to think everyone’s looking at them? Sheesh.

  2. March 25, 2016 5:13 pm

    That’s scary. The rumour mill knows no mercy.

  3. March 26, 2016 1:46 am

    Good grief! That’s awful! Just because a couple of pre-teen brats are so egotistical as to think the world is revolving around them.

    Yes, there are weirdos out there, no question. But to publically accuse someone without evidence – that’s just wrong.

Leave a Reply

