Skip to content

The Monsters In Maple

March 24, 2016

I was watching The Twilight Zone with my mom yesterday. (Love how reruns are airing again. That show certainly had it’s moments. And better than almost everything on TV today.) It was an episode I had never seen before. Two thirds through, I figured out the ending and told my mom. She didn’t believe me.

“Trust me. You seen one Twilight Zone, you seen ’em all.” I’ve only seen four or five so far. I love the show but I never get around to watching it.

It was the one where this playwright (the spelling of that word always confuses me) creates a mistress with a magic tape recorder and is caught by his wife having an affair. I told my mom the wife is also a creation of the magic tape recorder. She didn’t believe me. The guy dug up a hidden tape and destroyed it, thus destroying the wife. She was created by the magic tape recorder.

“Told ya.”

I like TV shows like The Twilight Zone. When I was a teen, I loved Tales From The Crypt. And Law & Order. C’mon! Was there anything better than Law & Order? No, there wasn’t. I am really enjoying the concept of a series where each episode stand-alones without any previous story to continue. It’s like watching a miniature movie. Everything in a neat little package. If I missed last week’s episode, I’m not lost because last week’s has no bearing on this week’s.

Most TV today has to be watched in order. I don’t like that. It makes it hard to join a series later after everybody has told you “Oh my God! You gotta watch this show!” Let me tell you something, I don’t gotta watch this show.

My favourite line about watching these new TV shows is “The first season is hard to watch but it picks up later.” Well, how about I start watching where it’s good or better yet, why did you continue to watch when it wasn’t good?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 24, 2016 11:20 am

    I’ve never understood the whole “acquired taste” thing. It basically means you choked down crap until you started liking it. WTH?!

    The Twilight Zone – I gotta start watching those again. They’re on Netflix now, I think.

  2. March 29, 2016 4:17 am

    The Twilight Zone is certainly a favorite of mine! I used to watch it all the time when I was a girl, along with Night Gallery, which used to scare the crap out of me. There was another one called Tales of the Unexpected when I was a teen that was a favorite, too.

Leave a Reply

