Skip to content

Peeps

March 28, 2016

I bought some Peeps for this Easter weekend. I’ve never had Peeps before. I wasn’t 100% sure what Peeps were exactly. I read the ingredients before purchasing. Just a bunch of sugars and food colourings. Edibles for the most part.

I bought four packs of ten. Two packs of yellow, one pack of purple and one pack of birthday cake flavour.

Turns out a Peep is just a soft marshmallow coated with granular sugar. Yes! The birthday cake Peep has a hint of fake vanilla flavour so those taste like cereal marshmallows* except they’re soft. Yes with a fist pump!

These things is disgustingly delicious. And coming from me, you know that’s an endorsement that I’ll stand behind. I may have no teeth left, but what do I need teeth for. Thems is marshmallows.

It was funny watching the reactions from various peoples as I set them out along with various other Eastery treats. Especially marshmallows especially amongst Italians. Italian people, regardless of how long they’ve been here in The Canada, are still wary of marshmallows. Even today, marshmallows are a rarity in Italy. (I’ve sent bags of marshmallows to Italy in suitcases over the years.) Old Italians here still don’t know what are marshmallows and they are very hesitant to try marshmallows. It’s a tiny pillow of sugar. And this one happens to be shaped like a baby chick, that’s it.

———-

  • This one time years ago for Christmas, I let it be known that I wanted Lucky Charms marshmallows. Not the cereal, just the magically delicious marshmallows. This may have been before the invention of the marshmallow-only cereal and even to this day, that cereal is very rare if at all available in The Canada. But Bob, took it upon himself to get me cereal marshmallows for Christmas. He bought a box of Lucky Charms, carefully sorted out the charms and bagged it up. Then he wrapped it up and gave it to me. Merry Christmas wigsf! You can add eating handfuls of cereals marshmallows to the list of disgusting things I’ve passed off as foods throughout my adult life.
4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 28, 2016 11:39 pm

    I have seen on Amazon, that you can buy bags – and I mean giant bags – of only the marshmallows you find in cereal. I kid you not. I looked it up in jest for my son who loves the cereal marshmallows too. I mistakenly bought him a box of cereal without marshmallows and told him that I’d buy a box of just the marshmallows so he could add them himself. Turns out, lots of people actually do that. No sorting required! Although, the sorting that Bob did was part of the gift. :)

    Glad you liked your Peeps! They make Halloween ones now, too. And probably other holiday ones as well.

  2. March 29, 2016 9:26 am

    So you’ve discovered Peeps! Now you need to discover Amazon.com. Then you can get all the marshmallow-only cereal bags you’d like. Big ‘uns too. Happy Easter! Hope you had a good time.

  3. March 30, 2016 3:00 pm

    I have never eaten a Peep, but now that I’ve heard your review, I wouldn’t say no to one.

    If Italy is a marshmallow desert, Russia is marshmallow paradise. Go into any Yummy Market and check out their candy section. Marshmallows as far as the eye can see.

    • March 30, 2016 4:38 pm

      There’s that big Yummy market down the street from me. That bulk candy aisle they have is insane

Leave a Reply

