Skip to content

Smoke Alarm

April 8, 2016

Don’t you just love it when your smoke alarm goes off at 5am?

It didn’t wake me up, I was already awake. But because I wasn’t doing anything that could create smoke, I didn’t immediately know where the sound was coming from. I ran around the house until I determined it was coming from the smoke alarm.

I thought smoke alarms had a reset button to clear the annoying alarm if there isn’t any actual smoke. Trust me, there was no smoke. The house has nearly caught fire a half dozen times and no alarm ever went off. I could have sworn I didn’t even have a smoke alarm hooked up. Turns out I do. Maybe that’s a good thing.

So I got up a ladder and ripped the smoke alarm off the ceiling and unplugged it. The alarm then stopped.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 8, 2016 8:39 am

    Those things are so annoying. Your solution is the one I generally employ too.

  2. April 9, 2016 12:31 am

    Oh my gosh! While I haven’t had it wake me up at 5 am, you poor thing!, I have had to climb up a ladder to rip the damn thing off to make it stop.

    One of the maintenance guys here showed me a trick – he kept the plastic cover from the packaging it came in, and popped that back onto it like a cover after he installed it on the ceiling, so it wouldn’t be so sensitive.

    I’m all for safety, but I don’t need a smoke alarm that lives to tell me I’m just cooking dinner. Dinner that is NOT smoking, by the way!

  3. April 9, 2016 4:24 pm

    Let’s approach this logically. The so-called smoke alarm does not activate when the house is almost burning down, but it does activate when you are sleeping. Conclusion: it is actually a sleep alarm! Better take the batteries out; no one wants a sleep alarm.

Leave a Reply

