Skip to content

Birthday Grrrlz

April 18, 2016

It all started on Thursday. The Juices were returning from a vacation. I had offered to pick them up from the airport. Due to Juice Box being a rather young fellow, he requires car rides in a baby seat. (In Ontario, penalty for driving a child without proper seating is two driver demerit points and a fine up to 1000 Canadollars.) The plan was drive to their house first, swap my car for Juicette’s car because that’s the one with the child seat then drive to the airport to pick them up.

Thursday was also Juicette’s birthday. Her new age, being a mathematically significant number in the decimal system that implies she is now passed over the top of a mound of earth, I got for her a package of individually wrapped dark chocolate squares in a quantity equal to her new age. It goes well with the gift Juice received from me earlier this year when he too turned that age. I got him a specific quantity of the French-Canadian Twinkie knock-offs, going so far as to open one box and remove some units to reach the precise number.

So, Thursday, I went to the Juice’s place, dropped off a birthday card and the gift on the kitchen table then grabbed the car keys. I took one look at the car and noticed a pancake where the right front tire used to be. I filled it with air then watched the tire return to pancake status.

I could have put the spare on but the spare is not designed for driving the distance from the Juice’s home, to the airport, then back again. To the mechanic then fix the tire, I didn’t have that much time. Swap the child seat out of their car and put in mine; if I knew how to do that, I would do it, but I’ve heard those child seats are a real pain the ass and it’s not like I know where Juice keeps the manual.

All while this is happening, the Juice’s are in the air, in  a plane. Thus began the barrage of frantic text messages and phone calls including messages from Carmine to me because he’s bored (and on vacation in Italy). My text reply of “car trouble” only encouraged him to call and call again. I answered his call and said “Leave me alone. I’m too busy to do all this stuff and talk to you. It’s not like you can help me. You’re in Italy. So unless you have an idea as to what I should do, leave me alone.” He had no ideas and was still bored, but now worried, so he called his wife instead and annoyed her instead.

My eventual solution was to call Juicette’s brother who has a similar aged child, therefore, a child seat and he lives close to the airport. I asked if we could swap cars for a couple of hours. He stepped up and did me a solid and picked them up from the airport instead of me.

Friday was my mother’s birthday but she had dinner plans with a friend so I relaxed in the evening and planned her birthday festivities for Saturday. She wanted to go walk around a place like Unionville but not Unionville. (Unionville is one of those small town old-style downtown-type places in the middle of a sprawling city.) I chose Downtown Oakville because going into Toronto was a nightmare. The key into-the-city route, the Don Valley Parkway was shut down all weekend for Spring maintenance and the parallel subway route was also shut down for maintenance. I know you think that’s poor planning but in Toronto, we call that regular planning. What I didn’t know what that there was construction on another highway into the city at the same time. I’m glad I avoided the city because three routes into the city being shut down or reduced simultaneously is all kinds of brilliant.

Downtown Oakville was nice, I mean really nice. There’s all kinds of rich people in Oakville so there’s lots of nice stuff to walk around and see. Oh my God, we got some tarts and treats and such at this little pastry shop. They were delicious.

My mom had a really good time. Mission accomplished.

Sunday morning, I was to take my mother for brunch with the Juices. A double birthday thing so Juice could kill two birds with one stone. Juicette picked a place on Saturday and made reservations. Come Sunday morning, both her and Juice Box were under the weather with this nasty cold that’s been going around. (I’ve had it pretty much the whole month.) So when I got there with my mom, Juice was solo. It was better that way. I’m the only one who enjoyed the meal. My mom’s eggs were over-cooked both times.

After brunch, Juice told us to meet him at this pastry shop on the way back to his house. I thought the pastries on Saturday were good. These things were a work of art. Due to various allergies, I avoided the really beautiful pieces and just had a salami and cheese croissant.  Probably the best meat and cheese stuffed croissant I’ve ever had. Just the right amount of cheese and salami ratio to croissant. Who could ask for more?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Christielli permalink
    April 18, 2016 11:45 pm

    The best part of this post was Carmine calling from Italy trying to help.

  2. April 20, 2016 9:53 pm

    Happy birthday to Juicette, and your mom!

    It just occurred to me – is Juice a relative?

    You did more than anyone could be expected to do about the car seat. Really, in case there’s a next time, they’re not all that difficult to strap in, and once you’d picked up the family, if it needed to be tightened, I’m sure either of the Juicebox’s parents would have stepped in to make sure it was installed properly right there in the parking lot. As it was, how nice that Juicette’s brother was able to pick them up. What a lifesaver that was!

    A salami and cheese croissant sounds so heavenly delicious right about now! What kind of cheese was it? Now I have a craving, lol.

  3. April 24, 2016 5:13 pm

    Indeed, the Toronto summer traffic season seems to start earlier and earlier every year. Didn’t it just snow, like, last week? And now the road closures have begun. Maybe I should move to Oakville. I like little pastry shops.

Leave a Reply

