Skip to content

Boaty McBoatface and other goings on

April 20, 2016

Is it wrong that I love Boaty McBoatface?

I get it. It’s really stupid. But sometimes I needs me some stupid. I need some stupid that doesn’t affect me. That doesn’t involve me. That doesn’t get in my way. It just entertains me.

It sucks that I’m the same species as the people that would allow Boaty McBoatface to happen. But I need something to break up the monotony of the day’s horrible stuff. I need a break from polished turds and confidence men that make up Canadian politics. I need a break from the clusterfuck that makes up the American system of democracy. I need a break from explosions in Belgium. Hell, I need a break from Carmine bitching about diarrhea and his dislike of Jell-O. (By the way, you know there’s something seriously wrong with a person when they express their dislike of Jell-O. Everybody likes Jell-O.)

Boaty McBoatface allows me to smile. Sure: family, love, religion; these things should provide me with reasons to smile. But Boaty is just so stupid.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 20, 2016 9:34 pm

    Well, file this under things I was unaware of. I’m just not keeping up since I’ve been cut off from the Internet at work.

  2. April 20, 2016 9:57 pm

    I think everyone needs some level of stupid, for just that reason – to blow off steam, to just simply be entertained. I call it junk food for the brain. For my husband, it’s cartoons, for me, it’s stupid romance novels. Things that don’t require any real mental exertion.

    But, I have to ask, what is a Boaty McBoatface?

    • April 21, 2016 7:44 am

      Boaty is a marine research vehicle in the UK. The naming was left up to a public vote. Some comedy public personality offered up the name and the people voted it in.

      • April 21, 2016 11:42 pm

        Well, if it was a vote, then I guess that’s what the people wanted! Okay then! lol

  3. April 24, 2016 5:15 pm

    I’m with you. We all need some silly to survive.

Leave a Reply

