Skip to content

Eating Colombia

May 16, 2016

On Sunday, I decided to eat Colombian food. I did a quick internet search for a “latin american bakery” and found a bakery just south of Yorkdale Mall. I had the idea for the search as I drove out from Yorkdale.

I walked in the bakery and saw the arepa flour to make my own arepas. I also saw some arepas. I bought a kilogram of the flour. I bought a half dozen arepas. I also bought a half dozen of these other things I never got the name of. These things were basically Twinkies made with casava flour and stuffed with either cheese or beef.

I brought this stuff over to Carmine’s for dinner that night. We were having stew and pulled pork mac n cheese. I couldn’t eat the stew, hence me bringing my own dinner. I took some pulled pork and stuffed one arepa. I took some baked beans and stuffed another arepa.

As I started eating one of those twinkie things, I offered some to Carmine.

“What is dat?”

It’s a Colombian Twinkie.

“What’s hinside?”

Cocaine.

Carmine had that look of defeat in his face as I beat him to his own joke. Ha!

If I get some time this week, I’m going to try to make my own arepas fresh. But I did purchase a Playstation 4 and Doom on Saturday.

Yes. I’m surprised too that I took the time to write a quick blog post.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 20, 2016 2:56 pm

    Twinkies with cocaine sprinkled on them instead of powdered sugar would probably sell really well. Weed goes with brownies; Twinkies goes with coke. You wouldn’t want to put weed in a Twinkie; it would turn green.

  2. May 25, 2016 11:54 pm

    A PS4?! And here you could have gotten an Xbox and we could have friended each other across the game systems!

    So did you have any luck making your arepas? Are they sweet or savory?

    • May 26, 2016 6:57 am

      I did a lot of research on the system choice. In the end I chose familiarity.
      The arepas came out fine. Had them with black beans.

Leave a Reply

