Skip to content

Minimalism part 1

June 8, 2016

I think I’m going to start embracing minimalism. Or maybe I’m just coming to terms with the fact that I might be a borderline hoarder. I’ve got stuff. Lots of stuff. Stuff that I just don’t throw away. Or maybe I’m just lazy. Or maybe all of the above.

I’ve got piles of unopened mail. Mostly credit card bills and such because really who else sends mail these days. I’ve never really bothered to open the mail because I know it’s just a bill and I check my statements online every two weeks. But as part of my efforts to clean it all up and have less stuff, I’ve started opening all this mail. One nearly full bankers box of unopened mail turned into a 1/8 full bankers box of actual bills that I should be keeping.

I’m also going to get rid of stuff that I don’t have the effort or time to use anymore. Most of my board games are being offered up to Bob because I think there’s a better chance of him playing these games once than me playing them at all. I committed a darn-near cardinal sin by throwing books in the garbage. Okay, these aren’t books of great redeemable readable value. They’re in no condition to be donated to charities and such. They’re basically bad coffee table books in really bad condition. Or old computer programming textbooks. (All of my books except one have been in the bathroom.) I’ve found somebody to take my Lego. Yup, I’m unloading the Lego. Happy birthday Juicebox! Here’s five buckets of Lego. Now I have to find somebody to take my old Transformers toys. I think I’ve somebody. The jigsaw puzzles are spoken for.

Juice asked me what I’m going to do with my CDs. Oh, I’m keeping those. I’ve sold the CDs that I don’t want to listen to anymore. The last near thousand or so, I’m keeping. I do plan to listen to them again. I still listen to compact discs. Juice gave me that “Dude, mp3!” look. IT’S NOT THE SAME! I might sell some DVDs again. Maybe. As with some books, the books that don’t look too dog-eared.

Last Sunday, I sorted all of my t-shirts into four piles: 1) I still wear and still want to wear and am proud to wear; 2) makes a good undershirt; 3) served me well but has to be retired (including the last 2 Easy Pistol t-shirts); and 4) not quite sure if it’s a 1, 2 or 3. In the end, all of the 4s joined the 3s and will be used as either rags or dumpster food.

I want to have less stuff. I don’t use stuff. I’ve kept stuff because I might use it again but in ten years, have I used it? Am I really going to miss it if it’s gone? Only one way to find out.

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 8, 2016 11:07 pm

    I think your determination to do some purging is a good thing. I think it’s going to open you up to a new phase in your life somehow. Not for getting more stuff, but … a change or something.

    I bet you feel a lot better now that it’s done. :)

Leave a Reply

