Skip to content

Minimalism part 2

June 9, 2016

I’m not a fan of charitable organizations because I’m too cynical both by experience and by common sense to think that a charitable organization actually has the world’s best interests in mind. A charity may have a noble raison d’etre but that’s just it’s marketing strategy. A charity today exists to make money, no ifs ands or buts.

That does not mean I’m not charitable. I want to help. I want to give. I give to those who need. I give to those who appreciate. I give to create smiles. I give what I have to give. What do I have? I have toys. Who needs toys? Children. I don’t have children. But I know people who do.

Last night I visited people who have a child. I brought a little something. It’s not much but it’s something that the child enjoyed.batmanuel His mother asked who this action figure is and my answer “It’s whoever your child’s imagination wants him to be.” And the kid spent the next hour or so playing with this toy.

This thing was just a worthless hunk of plastic collecting dust on a shelf in my basement. At least for one night, it got to give one child a smile. Sure, someday it will end up in a landfall with its leg’s torn off and the cape missing. I doubt this toy will become a cherished childhood memory for this boy, but it might. It certainly wasn’t going to become that standing next to my warped Slinky and a Beast Wars Megatron.

There are an infinite number of ways to get rid of my stuff. Giving somebody a smile, an hour of fun, an opportunity for creativity; isn’t that the best thing to do?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

