Skip to content

Weekend Recap: All About Them

June 27, 2016

Friday

After work, I met some people at this vegetarian Indian buffet. I know what you’re thinking. I hated it. I hated it because it was vegetarian. Well, let me tell you something. I hated it. I’m not saying some butter chicken would have saved it. I’m just saying that buffet kinda sucks. Especially around these parts. Even in high turn-over buffet restaurants, the food is always crap. This place just gets to use the “we don’t serve meat” as a crutch for their suckage.

So, if this place is so obviously crap, why was I there? I’m open-minded. Yeah, that’s it. I’m open-minded. You know who’s not? The person who said “Let’s go to this Indian place.” Why this place? “It’s the only Indian place I’ll eat at.” Why? “Because I’ve eaten there before.” There are other Indian restaurants in town. Some closer, some nicer. “But I know this place.” I’ve eaten all over the place, I could have recommended a place. “I can’t eat at that place you like.” Why? “Because I don’t know that place.” Okay, you enjoy your closed-off little world.

Saturday

I went to the movies with a friend and her children. We saw Finding Dory. I don’t particularly enjoy Pixar films. This movie was no different from the rest. The two children, both boys, I gave them a bag of my old Transformers. “OPTIMUS PRIME!!!!!”

In the evening, I went to Juice’s to babysit Juicebox. That little guy tuckered me out something fierce. We played basketball on the deck with one of those Fisher Price or Little Tikes or generic Wal-Mart brand kiddie basketball nets. We did use an actual mini-basketball. Not a sponge ball or anything lame and safe like that. Oh hell, I was tired from trying to teach Juicebox how to put on his shoes. After ten minutes “Mommy do it.” I think he legitimately thought I was going to put his shoes on for him.

Sunday

I woke up, got showered and made sure my car was ready for a road trip. A distant almost-relative is visiting Toronto from the motherland. You know what that means. Everybody takes a turn showing the visitor around town. Sunday was my turn. We went to Niagara Falls.

A nice time was had by all. At least I hope. We dined at IHOP. I love IHOP. I love any place that serves good pancakes. The falls are the falls. Wow, that’s a lot of water going over those cliffs. Yes, they’re big but there are bigger falls. Somewhere in Wyoming is the continent’s biggest waterfall but Wyoming is kinda far from any place many people would visit. Niagara is an under two hour drive from Toronto. And Niagara, at least it use to be, is a vacation destination, it’s the honeymoon place. Yeah, back in the days when people would honeymoon in Niagara. I’m sorry. I just don’t see it. It’s such a hokey touristy crap kind of place. “Yeah, we’re married. Let’s go to Niagara Falls, watch water fall over a cliff then go to that haunted house underneath that statue of Frankenstein’s monster eating a BK Whopper. That’s so romantic.” Yes, I understand the history of Niagara Falls as a honeymoon destination. But things were different two hundred years ago. Disneyworld didn’t exist yet and traveling around the world was much more difficult. And consider the following, the woman who invented the honeymoon in Niagara Falls died at sea at 29 years old.

The day, the weekend as a whole was just so tiring for me. When I got home, I ate some dinner then tried to watch TV. But there was nothing good on. So I decided to take a nap instead. That nap turned into pretty much a deep sleep. I emerged only for a glass of water and a pee break. Otherwise, I slept straight through to Monday morning.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 3, 2016 9:08 pm

    Buffets too often go for quantity over quality.

    I heard a 1-minute audio clip from Finding Dory on a radio show, and that was enough to convince me that I never want to see it.

  2. July 5, 2016 11:39 pm

    Kids are so exhausting, aren’t they? Sounds like you got plenty tuckered out just from one day with some, lol.

    That was nice of you to give your old toys to your friend’s kids, though. I bet it made them happy, and there’s nothing in the world like making a kid happy.

    I’m glad you got some good rest!

Leave a Reply

