Skip to content

Feeling Rundown

July 21, 2016

I was run into by a bicycle yesterday.

I was walking across a street, in line with the sidewalks. The bicycle hit me directly from behind. Front wheel ran right into my right heel as I walked.

“I’m so sorry. I wasn’t paying attention,” said the bicyclist.

I waved it off. I wasn’t hurt.

The bicyclist rode off ahead of me on the sidewalk.

Six feet to my left lies a dedicated bicycle lane.

The bicyclist was so far from paying attention, the bike lane went unnoticed, and unused.

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 22, 2016 2:13 pm

    Aargh! I work with a local bicycle advocacy group, and we have to fight hard to get those dedicated bicycle lanes… to have people riding on sidewalks, or in the middle of the lane, and ignoring them is frustrating. Glad you weren’t hurt worse…

  2. July 24, 2016 3:37 pm

    Ugh. I have been almost mown down by cyclists on Dufferin St. many times. Granted, the traffic on Dufferin is terrifying, so I can understand why they’d rather ride on the sidewalk, but it would be nice if they could keep their speed down to under 60 mph so that I don’t have to feel like MY life is in danger.

  3. August 15, 2016 12:47 am

    Why would anyone bike on the sidewalk and not the bike lane? *shakingmyhead*

Leave a Reply

