Skip to content

Unfairweather

July 25, 2016

For the past week at least, it has been hot and humid here in sweaty southern Ontario. Pretty typical for a Toronto summer. It just seems to have started sooner and doesn’t look like it’s going to end any time soon.

Saturday night, I took a walk by the nearby storm water reservoir and noticed the ring of dry, cracked earth surrounding a tiny puddle. Oh, we need some rain. It has to come and water the plants. It has to break up this humidity and cool the air. It ain’t just Tom Wilson praying for the rain. C’mon big brown turtle, don’t let me down. (10 points to anybody who got that.)

This morning, as I lay in bed pretending I am physically capable of sleeping in, I heard the pitter-patter of raindrops on my house, I saw flashes of light through my blinds from the lightening and I heard crashes of thunder.

RAIN RAIN GLORIOUS RAIN!

Before I stepped outside to leave for work, I grabbed an old ballcap and put on my light-weight rain coat. “I have to go to work today and it’s raining outside,” I said to Abraham the Jewish cat as I opened my front door at 5:30 in the morning.

Like a punch in face, I was angrily greeted by a burst of hot and humid air.

It’s raining. The sun isn’t up yet. Why is it still hot and humid?

This is not right. This is not fair.

Last winter, on the only two days that were really cold, I went outside and tried to absorb as much of that cold I could, hoping my body would store it for the muggy Toronto summer. I knew I would need that cold.

Lord, God, god, Apollo or Buddha or Beelzebub or whatever. I’m not playing favourites here. I just want some relief. Sure as hell ain’t getting any relief from the gubment. [rant] Not like the gubment didn’t just start selling off the electrical power system to private concerns after granting the barely-functional-on-hot-and-humid-days wind power companies incredible contracts that guarantee payment of all power generated regardless of demand on the grid while having to pay neighbouring gubments to take excess energy generated at a lower cost facilities than the wind power farms on those days when it’s actually windy. Especially seeing as how those windy days are the days that the least amount of electricity is required on the grid. Then they tell me to conserve electricity because on these hot and humid days, we don’t have enough to go around. Not to mention pretending not to know that moving a gas power plant after construction had begun would create a cost over-run then when they got caught pretending not to know, they deleted emails, erased computer servers and blamed it all on office staffers. It’s not the like elected officials weren’t aware of any of this. Then to make matters worse, you, yes YOU FUCKING ONTARIANS voted these corrupt and/or incompetent politicians back in office, with a fucking majority so they can implement all kinds of new ass-backwards and equally corrupt and/or incompetent projects that accomplish nothing but fatten the bank accounts of the politicians and their campaign financiers. [/rant] All the gubment can do is tell me to keep cool but conserve electricity. Only use the air conditioner if absolutely necessary and keep the thermostat at 26 degrees Celsius (78 Fahrenheit).  Meanwhile, outside gubment buildings, free electric car charging stations are starting to pop up. [rant2] Why the heck is the gubment giving away car fuel for one type of car propulsion system but not the others? Hey gubment, don’t fookin’ pick sides! Don’t give give one guy free electricity for his car if you’re not giving me free gasoline and my neighbour free diesel. How about giving people free bus rides? Nope. Last time I checked, it costs 3.25 there and 3.25 back for me to take a bus to that gubment building with the free electric car charging stations. Going to the library shouldn’t be this frustrating![/rant2] [rant3] Four trips to the new library so far. Have yet to find the card catalog or equivalent computer system. I should not be penalized for not memorizing the Dewey decimal system. Nor should I have to pull out my smartphone to find out if the library has anything by Tom Holland. Nor should I have to ask a librarian where the card catalog computer is located. Damn thing should be obvious. Should have signs around it. Not to mention it took me four trips to find the overnight book return slot. Heaven forbid they put it anywhere by the front door. It’s on the one side of the building that doesn’t have a sidewalk.[/rant3]

I hope somebody is enjoying this weather. I’m clearly not.

In other news, I’m focusing on reading again. Not picture books, not coffee table books, real books. Books with lots of words. It’s been a hard slog but I’m getting better at focusing on the words and sentences again. For a while, I had the hardest time reading a full page of anything. My eyes just couldn’t focus on the words. After a paragraph or two, the words would just blur together and I’d get stuck on a single word. I’m trying my best. I managed to read Bret Hart’s autobiography. I read the whole thing. I’m pretty proud of myself for that. Now I’m taking on a slightly bigger challenge, Conrad Black’s Flight of the Eagle. Got a three week loan from the library. I hope I can read most of it in that time.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 25, 2016 11:56 pm

    I am so with you on the weather thing. We’ve been having some of that too, where it rains but the heat doesn’t break.

    Regarding the reading thing, were you having eye issues? I know if I look at a computer screen for too long, my eyesight starts to get all blurry. The eye doctor recommended what he called the 20/20/20 rule – stare at something neutral (like a blank wall) for 20 seconds, 20 feet away, every 20 minutes. It gives your eyes a rest and helps them refocus. Maybe it’ll help you, too.

  2. July 31, 2016 7:18 pm

    Enjoy your reading! I always wish I could read more than I do. If I sit still for too long I get sleepy and nod off, so that limits the amount of reading I can get done.

    I thought I was being virtuous keeping my AC at 77 during the day. They want it at 78? That’s pretty warm.

  3. Christielli permalink
    August 1, 2016 1:04 am

    At least it’s been a bit more reasonable the past few days. Give me 24 degrees with no humidity all summer please. Is that too hard to ask of the weather gods?

Leave a Reply

